The nominees for the Ringo Prize 2021 were announced last week ahead of the awards ceremony, which takes place at Baltimore Comic Con in October, awarded in honor of the late artist Mike Wieringo who made his name as the co-creator of Tellos, as well as working on DC Comics properties like The Flash and Marvel comics The Fantastic Four, and others.

The awards, founded by Cards, Comics, and Collectibles in Reisterstown, Md., Celebrate creators and new works from the previous calendar year nominated by industry professionals and fans, with final nominees chosen by all professionals. of the creation of comics.

Judging is made by a select jury of five professionals who represent a representative sample of the comic book industry who votes by ranking the seven choices in each category in order of preference.

This year’s panel is:

  • AMY DALLEN: Host and writer for geek media, both independently and on shows for Geek & Miscellaneous (The Wednesday Club, Talkin ‘Comics Weekly), DC Universe (former host of CC Daily), and Collider (Collider Heroes). She is known for her performances (Callisto 6, Shield of tomorrow), tabletop and video game streaming, and for his commentary drawing on more than a decade in comic book retail as a staff member at House of Secrets in Burbank, California.
  • DR. KATIE MONNIN: The first author to discuss teaching with graphic novels in 21st century classrooms. Alongside the winners Teaching of graphic novels (2010), she has also written eight other books on teaching graphic novels and pop culture in 21st century classrooms. In 2018, Dr Monnin created and launched Why so serious? Productions, an educational organization and also wrote a monthly column for Diamond bookcase called “Katie’s Korner: Graphic Novel Reviews for Schools and Libraries” from 2010 to 2020. She also works with DC Comics to create academic reading guides.
  • JEAN SIUNTRE: Host and program producer for CBS Radio, CBS-TV, ESPN, Fox Sports Network and the former Sporting News Radio Network. He is also the creator of the Word Bubble Podcast, a talk show podcast featuring one-on-one interviews with comic book creators, novelists, screenwriters and actors. In 2011, USA TODAY POP CANDY blogger Whitney Matheson ranked Word Balloon as the # 1 comic book podcast. John was also featured on The Science Channel as the on-camera expert on the 8-part TV series, Prophets of science fiction.
  • STEENZ: Caricaturist, editor and teacher based in Saint-Louis. She is the designer of the syndicated comic strip Heart of the city, the co-creator of Dwayne McDuffie Award-winning GN Archival Quality. She is featured in short story anthologies such as Eisner- and Ignatz Award-winning Elements: fire, mine!, and Dead beats. She also launched and edited the popular RPG periodical Rolled up and said and currently teaches comics at Webster University while editing titles for Mad Cave Studios.
  • BRIAN STELFREEZE: Multi-talented artist with experience in penciling, inking, coloring, painting and writing. He is a founding member of Gaijin Studios, a prolific and acclaimed cover artist whose creative output can be found on BOOM! Studios’ Men Day, Marvel ComicsBlack Panther, and DC Comics’ Shadow of the bat. BOOM! Recently released studios Iconic art by Brian Stelfreeze, a definitive look at his career as a publisher.

Here are this year’s nominees by category:

Best series

  • The Department of Truth, Picture comics
  • Distant sector, DC Comics
  • Knowledge of Olympus, WEBTOON
  • My deepest secret, WEBTOON
  • Usagi Yojimbo, IDW editions
  • Wonder Woman: Dead Earth, DC Comics

Best single issue or story

  • All-America Comic # 1, Picture comics
  • Firefly: the outlaw Ma Reynolds (BOOM! Studios)
  • Marcy and the Riddle of the Sphinx, Flying Eye Books (USA) / Nobrow Press
  • “Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin” from Ice Cream Man Present Quarantine Comix Special # 1, Picture comics
  • OZ, self-published
  • Parallel, Source point Press

Best Cartoonist (Writer / Artist)

  • Derf Backderf
  • Mongie
  • Stan sakai
  • Rachel smythe
  • Adrien tomine
  • Sophie yanow

Best writer

  • Penelope Bagieu
  • Anthony Del Col
  • Jason douglas
  • NK Jemisin
  • Marjorie Liu
  • James tynion iv
  • Ram v

Best artist or designer

  • Josh adams
  • Jamal Campbell
  • Elsa Carter
  • Hanza Art
  • Sana Takeda

Best inker

  • Sanford Greene
  • Brett hobson
  • Jjolee
  • Gabriel Hernandez Walta
  • Tonci Zonjic

Best letterer

  • Deron Bennett
  • Aditya Bidikar
  • DC Hopkins
  • Micah Myers
  • Chas ! Pangburn

Best Colourist

  • Toyin Ajetunmobi
  • Laura Allred
  • Tamra Bonvillain
  • Rutledge Aladdin Lee Grant Necklace
  • Jacob phillips
  • Joe todd stanton
  • Christian parish

Best Cover Artist

  • Gian Carlo Bernal
  • Stephanie Hans
  • Maan’s house
  • Steve lieber
  • Momoko fishing
  • Kevin o’neill
  • Joe todd stanton

For a list of last year’s winners, check out this link.

Top honors will be announced Saturday 23 October 2021, and the winners will be published on Comic Watch after the ceremony.

NEWS WATCH: 2021 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards finalists announced

Author: Chad Burdette

Chad lives in upstate New York and has always been a reader and collector of comics. As a result, Chad has many problems, many of which are bagged, shipped and sorted.